NEWS RELEASE: Chittenango Lions Club CONTACT: Warren "Pat" Jerome 687-9585
DATE OF RELEASE: July 7, 2007 TOPIC: "Installation of Officers"




     The Chittenango Lions Club for the 35th time, held its installation of new officers. This year the 2007-2008 officers were installed on June 21st at the Rusty Rail. They were installed by Past Lions International Director Robert Seibert of the North Syracuse Club. Lion Seibert was also present for the Chittenango Lions first installation in 1972 when the Club received its charter.

     The new Chittenango Lions Club officers for 2007-2008 are; President James English, 1st VP - Lee Finkle, 2nd VP - Peter Owen, 3rd VP - Michael Lynch, Secretary - Jack Kern, Treasurer - Richard Steinbach, Financial Secretary - Marty Iritz, Directors 2 years - Nick Staffiero and Nelson Smith, Directors 1 year - Gerald Vaikness and Paul Iaconis, Lion Tamer - Charles Grover, Tail Twister - Bruce Hall and Past Presidents - Peter Stevens and Stephen Waite.

In addition to the installation of the 2007-2008 officers, the following took place before the 60 members and friends in attendance.

     The evening, however, was more than the normal installation and awards night. The Chittenango Lions Club also celebrated its 35th Anniversary. Chartered in 1972 it has served the local area as well as people elsewhere. The organization has concentrated on helping people who have sight, hearing and speech needs. In addition it works with youth and senior citizens through its many activities. PID Siebert praised the Chittenango Lions Club for its 35 years of service. He said "I am proud to be an honorary member of Chittenango and am always happy when asked to return like tonight to be Master of Ceremonies at your installation dinner."

     He went on to conclude: "The Chittenango Lions Club demonstrates in so many ways what a Lion Club is all about."

     The evening concluded with Charter President Warren "Pat" Jerome providing a brief history of the club emphasizing the early days in the winter of 1971-72 when the foundation for the Club was laid by its early membership. He congratulated six other charter members still with the Club. They were: Dick Montross, John Wozny, Dick Sullivan, Greg Ellstrom, Dean Dymond and Paul Klock. In closing, past President Jerome stated to the 2006-2007 Lions Club: "You are one of the great success stories in our Club's 35 year history. You are among the best Lionism has to offer."

     It was a successful evening for the Chittenango Lions Club as it looks ahead to next year. The Club has 40 members and taking applications for new people who would like to help the community by becoming a Lion. Their motto is "WE SERVE".

Chittenango Lions Club - Photos of 6-21/07 Installation Night

Officers of 2007-2008: Pictured above are Chittenango Lions Club members inducted into office June 21 by Past Lions International Director Robert Seibert. They will assume the new duties July 1st.

     First Row L-R: Michael Lynch (3rd VP), Peter Owens (2nd VP), Lee Finkle (1st VP), James English (President), Jack Kern (Secretary), John Wozny (Past. Pres.), Paul Iaconis (Director 1 year).

     Second Row L-R: Peter Stevens (Past Pres.), Bruce Hall (Tailtwister), Stephen Waite (Past Pres.), Richard Steinbach (Treasurer), Charles Grover (Lion Tamer), Nelson Smith (Director 2 years), Nick Staffiero (Director 2 years), Gerald Vaikness (Dir. 1 yr.) Not pictured Marty Iritz (Financial Secretary).

Special Awards 2006-2007: Twelve Chittenango Lions who received special recognition awards on June 21 are pictured above.

     First Row L-R: Paul Haynes (Life Membership and Melvin Jones Humanitarian Service Award), Alan Laube (Melvin Jones Humanitarian Service Award), Louise Jerome (Club President Award), Maureen Smith( Club President Award), John Wozny (Robert Uplinger Service Award), Richard Sulliven (Club President Award).

     Second Row L-R: Warren Jerome (Club President Award), Stephen Waite Club President Award), John Lemessurier (Lions International President's Certificate of Appreciation), Nelson Smith (Club President Award), Jack Kern (Robert Uplinger Service Award), Not pictured is Peter Stevens who received the Past President's Award.

A Great Night: Chittenango Lion Paul Haynes holds his "life Membership Award" and "Melvin Jones Humanitarian Award" presented to him earlier by Past International Director Robert Seibert. Lion Haynes will be 20Y-1 District Director in 2008-2009, the first in the Chittenango's Club 35 year history.

Uplinger Awards Winners: Chittenango Lions Jack Kern and John Wozny accept congratulations from PID Robert Seibert on receiving the "Robert Uplinger Service Awards". They are named in honor of Past International Lions President Robert Uplinger from Syracuse who was International President 1971-1972 when the Chittenango Lions Club was chartered. President Peter Stevens looks on. These awards bring the total to five such awards in the past three years to Chittenango Lions

Laube Recognized: Past International Director Robert Seibert awards Chittenango Lion Alan Laube with a "Melvin Jones Humanitarian Award". The award is named after the founder of Lions International in 1917. Club President Peter Stevens assisted Lion Seibert in the presentation.

An International Award: With Chittenango Lions President Peter Stevens looking on, Past International Director Robert Seibert congratulates John "Buck" Lemessurier with the "Lions International President's Certificate of Appreciation" for his many years of service through Lionism to the Chittenango community. This is the third such award presented to a Chittenango Lion in the past three years.